• NanoEFI DRZ400 Kit - Development

• If you'd like to help with compatibility for your engine, please post a few pictures and any technical documentation or manuals you may have.
Our forum has moved to: FORUM.NANOEFI.COM

We've moved to a new forum software package (called Discourse). It's much better suited for our needs and better all around. Please spend a moment and register there, even if you're already registered here. I've posted new progress updates there to kick off new topics of conversation. I hope to see you there! Thanks!
If you'd like to help with compatibility for your engine, please post a few pictures and any technical documentation or manuals you may have.
 #59  by Travis Nano
 Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:35 am
@LuckyLucky I'm interested in talking about NanoEFI DRZ400 kit. Are you game?
LuckyLucky wrote:
Tue Aug 07, 2018 2:06 pm
Hey there,

I'm a medical device engineer with experience in Solidworks, rapid prototype manufacturing, machining, and board layout.

I have some basic experience with embedded programming, but only really in the Arduino space.

Currently in the middle of developing an EFI conversion kit for the DRZ400. There are already functional bikes with EFI systems up and running, so now the goal is to streamline the process so that anyone with a drz can relatively easily complete the conversion.

Three main targets to hit for the project right now:

-Custom machined flywheel trigger rings to be optimized for cheaper manufacturing.
-Currently running microsquirt ECU. Would like to evaluate NanoEFI as a lower cost alternative.
-Redesign the wiring harness to lower cost without compromising on ingress protection and durability.

All other parts are OEM parts taken from bikes or quads that can be readily found. There is work being done on building up a database of different bike configurations (throttle bodies, big bore kits, exhausts, etc) so that multiple maps can be made readily available.
 #117  by LuckyLucky
 Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:56 am